Merricat

This is Merricat (Mary Katherine from the book We have always lived in the Castle) I finished reading today, excellent book, thoroughly enjoyed!

I have little idea what she really looks like, the book doesn’t describe her precisely, but she’s probably a bit like this I should imagine.

In other news, I have been tortured for days by toothache / neuralgia (terminal I expect) It was a bit better this morning, but tonight its almost as bad as it was yesterday, doing this picture took my mind off it, and sleeping is good! If I don’t feel better by Monday, I shall visit the dentist, and if I don’t feel better tomorrow, then its pain killers for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

โ€œmerricatโ€

12 thoughts on “Merricat

    • Thanks Paula, this tooth is the strangest! Its aching quite a bit now, after a cup of hot tea, but was pretty neutral earlier – I went and booked the dentist for next Tuesday, by then anything could happen!

      I wanted her to look evil, as thats the character, but she’s also innocent, so I was trying to include both those qualities, I gave her green eyes, since we have the “Green eyed monster” of literature, but then its hardly the case that the jails only have Green eyed villains in them! Maybe now I think of it, more yellow in the green might have brought the intensity down a bit – I would normally try to avoid such questioning, but I got to thinking about depictions of women by men in art, and how much of it there was in victorian times compared to now – (Contemporary Art I mean) then I found this extensive article yesterday about John William Waterhouse,

      http://www.ngv.vic.gov.au/essay/j-w-waterhouses-ulysses-and-the-sirens-breaking-tradition-and-revealing-fears-2/

      Quite interesting – it dates from before modern feminism, but now we have post feminism, 2nd wave, 3rd wave feminism, and so on, it seems to me those standard cliches are persistent, regardless of modernism, we still have good women, bad women, scary women, lovely women, fun women, etc,etc, tough men, soft men, gay men, blah,blah,blah, men who cant think straight cos of toothache!

      I just don’t normally do narrative stuff, its a whole other conundrum, but if one were to say “it doesn’t matter anymore, because we’re all cool” then narrative art could come back, just for the hell of it! I mean, if we’re going to tolerate a total git in the Whitehouse, after all . . . . but I digress! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. Ogden, your artwork is amazing. I love that you’ve captured Merricat with her head tilted, and the green eyes are wonderful. As for your tooth, I hope you’re more comfortable, and that a resolution will be just around the corner. Please take good care. ~ Mia โค xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mia, that was such a good book for me to read, I haven’t read anything quite like that before, really fresh. I think Merricat would tilt her head like that, and be thinking something indiscernible! Thats what I was going for ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the good wishes, they might help me if I have to grip the chair at the dentists!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
      XX โค

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I know! I had toothache a few years ago, lucky it only lasted a day or 2, but it was dreadful! I had to have antibiotics for a week, then had it pulled out – glad it was gone by then!

        This time round it wasn’t toothache, the dentist said it wasn’t the tooth, it was in the gum, due to a crack in the tooth causing food debris to get jammed in there – weird, it hurt real bad, but not as bad as actual dreaded toothache, which is awful !!! Arghh!!

        Now I got this cold, I had the week off, and I have been feeling over tired and sneezey wheezy most of the week – now its monday tomorrow, I almost feel cured! My body is my own worst enemy it seems!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

        Like

Leave a Reply

